Eleven Fraters Attend IFC Academy

Eleven Fraters Attend IFC Academy

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The North-American Interfraternity Conference (NIC) recently hosted 160 Interfraternity Council (IFC) officers and advisors for the 2009 IFC Academy. Held at the Hilton Downtown Indianapolis, the Academy brought student leaders together from across the country. Thirty-five fraternity communities were represented at the day long conference, including 11 from TKE Chapters.

Academy is a one day, fourteen hour program which takes participants through curriculum pieces focused on how they can become high performing IFC's, aligned with the NIC Standards, and serving the needs of their member fraternities. Participants leave academy with a task list for their return to campus, a renewed sense of commitment to the interfraternal community and a personalized assessment of their own council effectiveness. Attendees also they learned how to identify restrictive clauses in their own polices and, along with NIC professional staff, discussed ways to work with campus advisors and administrators to remove these restrictive policies.

NIC President & CEO, Peter Smithhisler commented on the IFC Academy, "The NIC's commitment to Advocacy, Collaboration, and Education comes through with great clarity at IFC Academy. We are able to impress upon these men the importance and relevance of complete standards implementation. Our member fraternities depend on us to do this work and we are excited about its continued evolution."

The 2009 IFC Academy featured special guest Josh Orendi, CEO of Phired Up Productions. Phired up and Josh specialize in values based recruitment programming. Their Academy program reiterated to the IFC officers the important role they play in removing restrictions and ensuring that fraternities can operate in environments that are conducive to their success.

The NIC does not formally recognize Interfraternity Council's. The member fraternities which comprise campus IFC's are part of national organizations that are NIC members. The NIC Standards are the agreed upon requirements for membership in the inter/national trade association. For more information about Academy or the NIC Standards please contact Ben Pendry via email.

TKE Members pictured are Walter Ambrose (Beta, Illinois Wesleyan Univ.), Herbert Bruce (Beta-Lambda, Auburn Univ. now works at Lynchburg College), Geraldo Campos (Sigma-Alpha, Florida International Univ.), Doug Jessup (Pi-Alpha, Ashland Univ.), Efstratios Kosmas (Sigma-Theta, St. Leo Univ.), Jose Morales (Beta-Xi, Arizona State Univ.), Todd Neal (Theta-Rho, St. Cloud St. Univ.), Bryan Sartory (Pi-Upsilon, Towson Univ.), William Scaplen (Delta-Gamma, Univ. of Connecticut), Mike Schroeder (Delta-Lambda, Univ. of Central Missouri), and Lance Smith (Zeta-Pi, Culver Stockton College).

The Grand Council of Tau Kappa Epsilon has released our 2020-2025 Strategic Plan. Looking for a way to contribute to the future of TKE? Make a gift to Life Loyal Teke today.

  • Tags

Related Posts