Birthday of a Legend, His Academy Team Announced

Birthday of a Legend, His Academy Team Announced

Frater Charles R. Walgreen, Jr.INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – On January 2nd, 1925, one of the most influential and charitable Fraters in TKE’s history joined this organization. His birthday, March 4th, is celebrated this year with the lasting legacy he has made. The aptly named Charles R. Walgreen, Jr. TKE Leadership Academy is gearing up for another impactful year (with applications due March 15) – yet none of this would be available without his consistent and lasting support.

He gave to the TKE Educational Foundation knowing how important this organization was and continued this through his passing in 2007 by naming TKE in his will. In order to keep his memory alive in the hearts and minds of Tekes everywhere, the Walgreen Leadership Academy pushes forward to influence more men from across the TKE Nation. As a result, a top notch Facilitation Team for the 24th Annual Conference is appropriately being named on this day.

Frater Chris NilesHeading the list of dynamic personalities is Lead Facilitator Frater Chris Niles (Grand Chapter). A Life Loyal Teke, Frater Chris is the recipient of several fraternal distinctions including the Grand Prytanis Award, Medal of Excellence Award, and Volunteer of the Month twice (2006, 2009). He is a Leadership Trainer and Program Facilitator by trade and has been involved with TKE since his interactions at Bradford Woods, a retreat/ leadership facility operated by Indiana University where the Academy was held for several years.

The 2010 Charles R. Walgreen, Jr. TKE Leadership Academy will take place August 6-10 at the LaForet Conference & Retreat Center in Colorado Springs, Colorado. Applications are due March 15 – so you better hurry. You can also nominate candidates for the academy.
Learn more and fill out an application today.

Small Group Facilitators (in alphabetical order) are:

Tommy Asuma (Rho-Sigma, Grand Valley State Univ.)
Todd Farmer (Xi-Theta, Univ. of West Georigia)
Jim Hickey, Grand Pylortes (Zeta-Alpha, Wagner College)
Bryan Keller (Alpha-Tau, Drexel Univ.)
Matt Previts (Upsilon-Alpha, Spring Hill College)
H. Joe Puentes (Mu-Omega, George Mason Univ.)
Dorian Shager (DePauw University)
Andy Simon (Lambda, Univ. of Wisconsin)
Ethan Stubbs (Tau-Psi, Univ. of West Florida)
Facilitators in Training include:
Jerry Campos (Sigma-Alpha, Florida International Univ.)
Jon Turk (Epsilon, Iowa State Univ.)
Congratulations to all of these men! They are all looking forward to seeing you there at the 24th Annual Charles R. Walgreen, Jr. TKE Leadership Academy.
Be sure to follow the latest TKE News with the RSS Feed, on Twitter or the official TKE Facebook Fan Page (Tau Kappa Epsilon Fraternity).  

The Grand Council of Tau Kappa Epsilon has released our 2020-2025 Strategic Plan. Looking for a way to contribute to the future of TKE? Make a gift to Life Loyal Teke today.

  • Tags

Related Posts