Expansion Leaders

R.C. Williams

R.C. Williams was born in Alabama on July 24, 1888. He graduated from the Alabama polytechnic Institute at Auburn, Alabama, in 1907. His medical degree was received from the University of Alabama in 1910. For a time he was engaged in private practice in Alabama. He was an epidemiologist with the Alabama State health Department for three years. He entered the regular commissioned corps of the Public Health Service in 1917. From 1936 to 1942 he was assigned as Chief Medical Officer of the Farm Security Administration. In December, 1943, he was appointed Assistant Surgeon General of the U.S. Public Health Service, with rank of Rear Admiral. He became Grand Prytanis of TKE on March 23, 1944. He was a member of Alpha-Pi Chapter and was national president of his medical fraternity, Theta Kappa Psi.

Leland F. Leland

Leland F. Leland was a graduate of the University of Minnesota, initiated as the 72nd member of Theta Chapter, serving as Historian and President. He spent his life in the publishing field, working for the George Banta Company for a time before returning to St. Paul to found the Leland Publishers, Inc. in 1933. That firm was also known as the Fraternity Press. At the same time he founded an interfraternity magazine, The Fraternity month. At the 1924 Conclave he was elected Grand Histor and began his 25-term term of service as Editor and Manager for THE TEKE Magazine. At the 50th Anniversary Convention he was awarded the title "Grand Histor Emeritus." He served as Grand Prytanis from 1949-51 he died at St. Paul, Minnesota, on May 22, 1972 at the age of 73.

James C. Logan

James C. Logan was initiated into Xi Chapter, Washington University, St. Louis, where he graduated in 1936 with an LL.B degree. From 1945-47 he served his first term on the Grand Council, as Grand Pylortes. In 1951, the eighth national office, Grand Hegemon, was created and Logan was elected to fill it. A Kansas City attorney, James became the 19th Grand Prytanis at the 27th Conclave in 1953in Des Moines, Iowa. He wrote the first fraternity textbook on chapter rushing entitled "Rushing Tips." During this office a national housing fund, creative expansion program, and doctrine of chapter autonomy selection was established. Frater Logan was awarded the Order of the Golden Eagle Award in 1993. On February 29, 1997, at the age of 83, he entered into the Chapter Eternal.

Frank B. Scott

Frank B. Scott was initiated into Beta Chapter at James Millikin University in Decatur, Illinois, in 1921. An insurance company investigator and Naval Intelligence officer, he served as Chapter Advisor to Alpha-Pi Chapter at George Washington University during WWII and was made an honorary member of that group. After the war, he remained with ONI as Research Analyst and spent four years as Province Hegemon for the District of Columbia and Pennsylvania. He joined the Grand Council in 1943 as Grand Grammateus; served three years as Grand Epiprytanis, and returned to the post of national secretary in 1947 for six years. He was reelected Grand Epiprytanis in 1953 and became TKE's 18th Grand Prytanis at the Bedford Conclave in 1957.

Bruce B. Melchert

Bruce B. Melchert was initiated into Beta-Theta Chapter at the University of Missouri in 1954 and has served the Fraternity as a Regional Officer, Judiciary Chairman and Conclave Chairman. He was a Field Supervisor from 1956 to 1957, Assistant Executive Secretary from 1958 to 1959, and was TKE's Executive Director from 1960 to 1972. He is also recognized as International Founder for beginning the Zeta-Iota Chapter at the University of Manitoba, Canada in 1958. Frater Melchert was named Expansion Leader at the 49th Biennial Conclave.